

THE GENERAL COURT OF MASSACHUSETTS STATE HOUSE, BOSTON 02133-1053

April 14th, 2020

Delivered via email

Senator Elizabeth Warren 309 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Senator Edward Markey 255 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Representative Richard Neal 2309 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Representative James McGovern 408 Cannon House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Representative Lori Trahan 1616 Longworth HOB Washington, DC 20515

Representative Joseph Kennedy III 304 Cannon House Office Building Washington, DC, 20515 Representative Katherine Clark 2448 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

> Representative Seth Moulton 1127 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Representative Ayanna Pressley 1108 Longworth HOB Washington, DC 20515

Representative Stephen Lynch 2109 Rayburn HOB Washington, DC 20515

Representative William Keating 2351 Rayburn HOB Washington, DC 20515

Re: Authorizing the use of Massachusetts SNAP EBT cards for online grocery purchases

Honorable delegation members,

Thank you for your tireless service during this time of unprecedented crisis. Today, we the undersigned write this letter to advocate on behalf of Massachusetts residents who receive federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits. We are requesting that a provision be included in the upcoming Federal stimulus package being debated by the U.S.

Congress to allow for Massachusetts to participate in the Food and Nutrition Service Online Purchasing Pilot program.

Federal- and State-issued 'Social Distancing Guidelines' encourage individuals to avoid travel or gathering in public spaces. Many Americans can honor these guidelines by using mobile applications or websites to order groceries to their doorstep. Individuals receiving SNAP benefits, however, currently do not have this safe shopping alternative. On the contrary, Massachusetts SNAP recipients must take additional risk to their health and safety, and to the health and safety of others, by traveling to the grocery store to purchase food with their SNAP EBT cards in person.

SNAP benefits provide a lifeline to food security for so many members of our communities of color. Studies have shown that individuals receiving SNAP benefits are more likely to have diabetes and asthma, and are therefore at greater risk of the most life-threatening symptoms of COVD-19. This is directly tied to the fact that, for a variety of well-documented reasons, our black and brown residents disproportionately suffer from these and many of the other "underlying conditions" associated with higher COVID-19 morbidity rates, like hypertension. In fact, a recent report from the Boston Public Health Commission showed that the four neighborhoods with the largest population of black and brown individuals had the highest number of documented COVID-19 cases.

Recipients of SNAP benefits deserve equal access to food and other daily essential items through online purchase and delivery. As Massachusetts enters a predicted surge in COVID-19 cases, the lives and wellbeing of all residents depends more than ever on this access. Including this measure authorizing USDA to allow online purchase and delivery for SNAP recipients in upcoming stimulus legislation will protect the health and safety of all residents in Massachusetts by allowing for greater social distancing. It is equally important that Congress ensure that the USDA covers all relevant costs to Massachusetts associated with the information technology needed for implementation and delivery fees. That way, we can all do our part in flattening the curve.

Thank you for you again for your service and for your urgent attention in this matter.

Sincerely, Representative Nika Elugardo, 15th Suffolk District Senator Nick Collins, 1st Suffolk District Representative Maria Duaime Robinson, 6th Middlesex District Representative Jay Livingstone, 8th Suffolk District Representative Christine Barber, 34th Middlesex District Representative Mindy Domb, 3rd Hampshire District Representative Claire Cronin, 11th Plymouth District

Representative Lindsay N. Sabadosa, 1st Hampshire District Representative Patricia A. Haddad, 5th Bristol District Representative Cristina Minicucci, 14th Essex District Senator Rebecca Rausch, Norfolk, Bristol, and Middlesex District Representative Frank Moran, 17th Essex District Senator Joanne M. Comerford, Hampshire, Franklin and Worcester District Senator Patricia D. Jehlen, Second Middlesex District Senator William Brownsberger, 2nd Suffolk and Middlesex District Representative Natalie Blais, 1st Franklin District Representative Louis L. Kafka, 8th Norfolk District Representative Susannah Whipps, 2nd Franklin District Representative Natalie Higgins, 4th Worcester District Representative Jack Patrick Lewis, 7th Middlesex District Representative Russell E. Holmes Democrat, 6th Suffolk District Representative Tommy Vitolo, 15th Norfolk District Representative James Hawkins, 2nd Bristol District Representative Denise Provost, 27th Middlesex District Representative Kate Hogan, 3rd Middlesex District Senator Michael Moore, 2nd Worcester District Representative Marcos Devers, 16th Essex District Representative Adrian Madaro, 1st Suffolk District Representative Tram Nguyen, 18th Essex District Representative William M. Straus, 10th Bristol District Representative Paul Mark, 2nd Berkshire District Representative David H.A. LeBoeuf, 17th Worcester District Representative Kay Khan, 11th Middlesex District Representative José F. Tosado, 9th Hampden District Senator Anne Gobi, Worcester, Hampden, Hampshire and Middlesex District Representative Tricia Farley-Bouvier, 3rd Berkshire District Representative Lori Erlich, 8th Essex District Senator John F. Keenan, Norfolk and Plymouth District Representative Tami Gouveia, 14th Middlesex District Senator James T. Welch, 6th Hampden District

Representative William Smitty Pignatelli, 4th Berkshire District Senator James B. Eldridge, Middlesex and Worcester District Senator Sonia Chang-Diaz, 2nd Suffolk District Senator Mark Montigny, 2nd Bristol and Plymouth District Senator Paul Feeney, Bristol and Norfolk District Representative Gerry Cassidy, 9th Plymouth District Representative John H. Rogers, 12th Norfolk District Representative Kathleen LaNatra, 12th Plymouth District Senator Barry R. Finegold, 2nd Essex & Middlesex District Representative Aaron Vega, 5th Hampden District Representative Kevin G. Honan, 17th Suffolk District Representative Andres X. Vargas, 3rd Essex District Representative Bud L. Williams, 11th Hampden District Representative Carlos González, 10th Hampden District Senator Walter F. Timilty, Norfolk, Bristol and Plymouth District Representative Elizabeth Miranda, 5th Suffolk District Representative Tackey Chan, 2nd Norfolk District Representative Rady Mom, 18th Middlesex District Representative Paul J. Donato, 35th Middlesex District Representative Joan Meschino, 3rd Plymouth District Senator Marc R. Pacheco Democrat, 1st Plymouth and Bristol District Representative Antonio F. D. Cabral Democrat, 13th Bristol District Representative Mary Keefe, 15th Worcester District Senator Bruce E. Tarr, 1st Essex and Middlesex District Senator Michael John Barrett, 3rd Middlesex District Representative Elizabeth A. Malia Democrat, 11th Suffolk District Representative Mike Connolly, 26th Middlesex District Representative Ruth B. Balser, 12th Middlesex District Representative Dave Decoste, 5th Plymouth District Representative David Paul Linsky Democrat, 5th Middlesex District Representative Daniel R. Carey, 2nd Hampshire District Representative Kate Lipper Garabedian, 32nd Middlesex District Senator Eric P. Lesser, 1st Hampden and Hampshire District

Representative Michelle L. Ciccolo, 15th Middlesex District Representative Michelle M. DuBois, 10th Plymouth District Representative Marjorie C. Decker, 25th Middlesex District