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General 

Which card to play in a particular situation can be a difficult decision for a defender.  The technical 

details of card play are a large and complicated subject, but we can look at one very important situation 

on defense to help improve our game - when to cover an honor!  At first glance, it seems that we have a 

simple rule, “Cover an honor with an honor,” but unfortunately this is a bit too simplistic.  Let’s take a 

look at when this rule applies and how best to actually use it.   

 

 

Promotion – Cover an Honor to Create More Winners 

Level 2 

The reason that we attempt to capture or cover an honor with our honor card is to promote the cards 

under that honor into winners. 

 

Example 1 – Covering an Honor 

Qxx 

  Kxx 

When the dummy has a holding like Qxx and you hold the King behind it, then if declarer leads the 

Queen, generally we should cover with the King.  This is an effort to promote the Jack and/or Ten which, 

if we cannot see either in our hand or the dummy, we hope are in partner’s hand.   

 

Example 2 – Covering an Honor When There Are Choices  

 QJx 

  Kxx 

If we can see the Jack, like in this example, then we do not need to cover the Queen, because we can 

cover the Jack later, hoping to promote partner’s Ten.   When the opponents have both the Queen and 

the Jack then these two cards are of equivalent value.  Covering either one will accomplish the goal of 

promoting partner’s Ten.  There is no rush to cover the Queen, so we should be patient and wait to 

cover the Jack.   
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Example 3 – Not Covering an Honor Too Soon 

 QJT 

  Kxxx 

A reason not to cover an honor is that the Declarer may have the singleton Ace and may be trying to 

convince us to play the King.  Another reason not to cover immediately is that partner may have the 

singleton Ace, and if we play the King now it will crash under partner’s Ace.    

 

Yet another reason not to cover too soon is that this could be the entire position: 

 QJT 

xxxx  Kxxx 

 Ax 

Covering any of the honors gives the declarer 3 tricks, where not covering limits the declarer to 2 tricks.   

Remember the goal of covering an honor is to promote our side’s spot cards, but when we can see that 

the opponents have all the good spot cards then it is best not to cover an honor.   

 

Example 4 – Promoting Our Ten 

Another position when covering is complicated is when dummy has the 9 and we want declarer to have 

to guess how not to lose a trick to the Ten.   

 QJ9 

Xxxx  KTx  

 Axx 

In this example, we can cover either the Queen or the Jack to promote our Ten.   

 

Example 5 – Hoping to Promote Our Ten 

If we have only King-Ten doubleton, then we need to cover the first round of the suit in a hope that we 

can score our Ten when declarer leads up to the J9 and takes the finesse.   

 QJ9 

Xxxxx  KT  

 Axx 

 

Example 6 – Promoting Partner’s Spot 

When we have King-doubleton (Kx) then we often must cover the first honor to ensure we get a chance 

to force the declarer to spend two honors on one trick and hopefully promote partner’s spot cards. 

 QJx 

T9xxx  Kx  

 Axx 

Here we cover the Queen on the first round, so that partner can then use one of their 10 and 9 to push 

out the Jack and develop a winner.  If we do not cover the Queen, it will win the trick, and the Declarer 

could then play the Ace, dropping our King, and win a trick with each of their three honors with no 

losers.    
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Covering an Honor – Creating a Problem for Declarer 

Level 3 

There are a few classic situations where we may or may not cover the first honor to create a position 

that gives declarer a guess about the layout of the suit.   

 

Example 7 – To Cover or Not to Cover? 

Covering in this position is not at all clear! 

 QJ9x 

Tx  Kxx  

 Axxx 

Here if we cover the Queen, then when declarer leads up towards J9x, partner’s Ten will pop up and be 

easily covered.  It is best not to cover so declarer must find the play of leading the Jack off the dummy 

and “pinning” the Ten to play the suit for no losers.   

 

Example 8 – Giving Declarer a Problem? 

Again, in this position, covering is not at all clear! 

 QJ9x 

Txx  Kx  

 Axxx 

The declarer cannot be so sure of the position, because we could be ducking from Kx or from Kxx.  If we 

duck the Queen (on the first round) Declarer must guess the position and now decide whether to pin the 

Ten by leading the Jack, or drop our King by leading small from the dummy.  Forcing declarer to guess is 

important because it gives them an opportunity to make a mistake. 

 

 

Cutting Communication – Win the Proper Honor 

Level 2 

Of course, there are reasons other than promotion to win or not win a particular trick – to not “cover an 

honor with an honor” immediately.  One of the most common, especially when defending a NT contract, 

is that we are trying to cut communication between the declarer’s hand and dummy.  We may 

accomplish this by holding up until we are exhausted in cards this suit or by holding up until we can 

make use of a count signal from partner and know when declarer has run out of this suit.   

 

Example 9 – Holding Up as Long as Possible 

When to win our Ace? 

 KQJxx 

  Axx 

Here we can hold up until the third round of the suit to win our Ace, hoping to cut communication to the 

hand with the long suit.  
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Example 10 – Getting Help from Partner 

Holding up until we are forced to play our Ace is effective at stopping declarer from running this suit, but 

it may allow declarer to win more tricks than they are entitled to. 

 KQJ109 

872  A65 

 43 

When the King is led from the dummy, we duck the first round of the suit and get a count signal from 

partner, partner playing the 2 if we play standard carding.  This lets us know that partner started with 

three cards in the suit and so declarer had only two cards.  We now know it is best to win the second 

round of the suit, cutting communication to the long suit and holding declarer to only one winner in this 

suit.  

 

Example 11 – Preventing an Entry  

Another reason to duck an honor is to prevent declarer from entering the other hand (the dummy in this 

example).  Look at this example in a ♥ contract.  

♠ -- 

♥ --  

♦ Q64 

♣ QJT 

♠ 7  ♠ -- 

♥ --  ♥ -- 

♦ JT9  ♦ A82 

♣ 76  ♣ K53 

♠ -- 

♥ 7  

♦ K3 

♣ A84 

South, declarer, leads the ♦K from hand.  If we win this, then declarer will be able to get to dummy with 

the ♦Q and then be able to finesse our ♣K.  If we duck the ♦K, we can keep declarer off dummy and win 

a ♦ trick and our ♣K. 
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Classic Ducking Play 

Level 4 

One other reason to duck or holdup on a trick is to make it more difficult for declarer to make the 

winning play on the second round of a suit.  Consider the following position: 

 KQTxx 

Jxx  Ax 

 xxx 

Declarer leads up to dummy and plays the King.  If we take the Ace on the first round, the declarer will 

likely return to hand (once they regain the lead) and lead up to dummy’s Ten - finessing partner out of 

their Jack.  But if we duck the Ace on the first round (smoothly so that no one knows we have it), then 

declarer will likely come back to their hand and lead up towards dummy again.  Now declarer will need 

to guess between a bunch of situations – two being partner starting with either Axx or AJxx.  They will 

often think partner had Axx and now play the Queen on the second round, not wanting to lose to our 

Jack.   When we win the Ace, now partner’s Jack will be a winner as well.   This ducking play (if done in 

tempo) is our best chance to win two tricks in this position.  

 

 

Conclusion 

Defensive card play allows for a lot of variations and complexity that make defending a hand quite a 

challenge.  The simple rule of “Cover an honor with an honor!” is a good starting point.  But the 

important thing is to understand that the point of this rule is to try to promote the spot cards and other 

smaller honors for your side.  This is key because if you see that the opponents have all of the spot cards 

and smaller honors, then covering an honor cannot help and not covering may save your side a trick.  

Remember that as a defender it is your job to make life as difficult as possible for the declarer.  Play your 

cards in such a way to make this happen! 


