REVISED ORDINANCE NO. #14 AN ORDINANCE ESTABLISHING THE MANNER IN WHICH COMMISSIONERS ARE ELECTED

BE IT ORDAINED BY MEADE COUNTY

Section 1. That the Commissioners of Meade County, South Dakota, pursuant to SDCL 7-8-10, shall establish in Meade County five (5) commissioners districts, which districts shall be as regular and compact in form as practicable and each district shall contain as near as possible an equal number of residents, as determined by the last preceding federal decennial census.

Section 2. That no person shall be eligible to the office of County Commissioner in Meade County unless he/she is a resident voter in the district from which he/she may be chosen.

Section 3. That a map is attached hereto outlining the boundaries of the five- (5) commissioner districts.

Section 4. That this Ordinance shall apply first to the 2002 Primary Election in Meade County.

/s/_____Robert Mallow, Chairman

SEAL

/s/ Lisa Schieffer, Auditor

First Reading: February 5. 2002 Second Reading: February 11. 2002 Adopted: February 11. 2002 Published: Feb. 13. 16.20.2002 Effective Date: March 12. 2002