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1st Printing Errata, FAQ, and Survival Tips
Version 1.1

Sleeping Gods is designed to be challenging. 
Normal mode can be quite difficult, especially 
for your first campaign. For a slightly easier 
campaign, apply the following rules:

•	 When starting easy mode, begin with 20 XP, 20 
extra starting coins, +1 meat, +1 grain, and +1 
vegetables. You may spend this XP as soon as 
you perform a Visit a Port action.

•	 When your crew reaches 0 health, do the 
following (in addition to the standard 
instructions): gain 5 XP, remove all status effects, 
gain 7 coins, and gain 8 command.

•	 At the start of  each turn, the active player gains 
1 extra command.

You can implement these changes even in the middle 
of  a normal mode campaign if  you’re finding it too 
difficult. Just be sure to write easy mode on your 
campaign sheet. Place the letter E after your final score 
when you complete the campaign (this is for final score 
comparison purposes).

Easy Mode Rules
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If  you’re struggling to survive in the world of  Sleeping 
Gods, follow these tips:

•	 When you’re presented with combat, you can always 
see the difficulty level before you start. Use the enemy 
difficulty table on page 37 of  the rulebook to gauge 
if  you’ll be able to deal with it. Level 3-8 is fairly easy. 
Level 14+ is very hard! Many times, you have the 
option of  avoiding combat. If  so, you may want to 
take this option if  you’re not ready (even though you 
usually earn fewer rewards).

•	 If  you can’t avoid combat and you die, don’t worry too 
much. The game was designed knowing that this would 
happen sooner or later. Follow the directions to return 
to the nearest port and remove all damage.

•	 Sleeping Gods is all about balancing resources. Don’t 
use crew members on every challenge. Sometimes it’s 
better to just draw fate without gaining any fatigue if  
the failure consequences aren’t too bad (for example, 
1-2 damage) or the skill number is low (4-6). Save your 
resources for when you really need them.

•	 If  things are consistently too hard, slow down. Don’t 
leave the starting maps too early. Spend some turns 
just building up command and equipping ability cards 
to crew members. It’s important to equip ability cards 
and level cards so that crew members have a lot of  one 
type of  skill (like 3 or 4 strength on one crew member, 
for example).

•	 Try to get some better recipes in the early maps before 
moving on to the other maps. The further you get 
from the starting area, the harder things get.

•	 Make sure to use Gloria! Her ability is extremely useful.
•	 Getting better weapons makes a huge difference in 

combat. Try to buy or find at least one weapon before 
leaving the starting maps.

•	 Plan out your attacks during combat so that you take 
advantage of  synergy tokens. Use splash damage to 
hit enemies with high defense. Careful planning with 
the other players can lead to much lower crew health 
loss. Winning combat also gives you more XP, which is 
important for your long-term success.

Survival Tips

Combat Level		  Difficulty
3-8			   Very Easy
9-11			   Easy
12-13			   Medium
14-17			   Dangerous
18-22			   Deadly
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RULE BOOK
Artifacts: These tokens can be spent as 2 coins at any 
time.

Venom: Once a crew member with venom reaches 0 
health, ignore the venom status token. It does not continue 
to deal damage to other crew members.

Ability Cards: Each time you reach the end of  the event 
deck (except the last time), be aware that the storybook 
will instruct you to discard all of  your equipped ability 
cards.

Rule Book, Pg 3 (Component List): The 4 starting 
adventure cards are included in the market deck (Gloria, 
Gear, Flapjacks, and Soup).

Rule Book, Pg 7 (Ability Cards): Add a new box with 
the following: ‘Secret: Players must keep their abilities 
cards in hand secret until they are played. They may not 
show them or give them to other players.’

Rule Book, Pg 12 (Ability Cards): In the top box on the 
page, add this bullet: ‘You cannot ignore an event card. If  
it only has 1 challenge listed, you must complete it.’

Rule Book, Pg 13 (Hazards): Add the word 
“successfully” to this phrase: ‘Hazards: If  you move into 
a region with a hazard, you must successfully complete the 
hazard’s challenge or take negative consequences.’

Rule Book, Pg 14 (Travel Example 1): At the end of  the 
section, change ‘places it on any crew member’ to ‘places it 
on Captain Odessa.’

Rule Book, Pg 18 (Activate Adventure Cards): Add this 
sentence: ‘ANY player can use adventure cards you own 
at any time, even to help another player in a challenge or 
combat.’

Rule Book, Pg 19 (Challenges): At the end of  the ‘step 
1’ paragraph, add this phrase: ‘You can choose to have 
no crew members participate and simply move on to 
the draw fate step.’

Rule Book, Pg 28 (Defeat): After the phrase, ‘Discard 
6 event cards from the top of  the event deck,’ add the 
following: ‘If  the event deck runs out while discarding, 
count the remaining event cards you need to discard and 
place an equal number of  damage on the event deck slot. 
The damage is placed here to remind you how many cards 
you must discard the next time the storybook instructs you 
to make a new event deck. However, if  this is your third 
time through the event deck, you don’t need to keep track 
because you won’t be making a new event deck.’

Rule Book, Pg 29 (Adventure Cards): Add this sentence 
to the first box: ‘ANY player can use adventure cards you 
own at any time, even to help another player in a challenge 
or combat.’

Rule Book, Pg 29 (Weapons): Add the underlined 
words to this sentence beneath the weapon card: ‘You can 
equip this to a crew member (or give it to a different crew 
member) at any time outside of  combat.’

CARDS
Adventure Card 20: Add the following text to this card: 
‘Return this card to the box after completing quest 74.’

Adventure Card 28: This card should say: ‘Gain 1 fatigue 
after you deal damage with this weapon. If  you already 
have 2 fatigue, you cannot use it.’

Adventure Card 74: Change printed ability to: ‘Ignore the 
effects of  the event card you draw this turn.’

Market Card (Tincture Recipe): This card has an 
outdated materials symbol used in the prototype and 
should have the final symbol.

The following list includes the most important errors to fix in the 1st printing of  Sleeping Gods. It is not a 
comprehensive list of  all typos and errors.

Essential Errata
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STORYBOOK
Story 4.3: The text says, ‘Draw 8 adventure cards,’ but it 
should say, ‘Draw 8 market cards.’

Story 58: Add a note at the start of  this story: ‘Note: This 
location is treated as a town. You may only make each 
choice once per explore action.”

Story 58.1: Add an option D that says: ‘Do not bid. (Turn 
to 58)’

Story 72: After the phrase, ‘Gain Dinosaur Egg Token,’ 
add this text: Return to the ship.

Story 82.4: The text should say to turn to 82.6 instead of  
84.6.

Story 98: Just before it says, ‘Gain 1 materials. Return to the 
ship,’ it should say, ‘C. Leave this place.’

Story 146: Choice B should be CUNNING 6.

Story 160.9, 160.10, 160.11: Gain adventure card 16 
instead of  the listed 23.

Story 208: Gain adventure card 90 instead of  the listed 
192.

Story F1: Add the underlined to the defeat instructions: 
‘...journey log sheet and start at F1 again. In addition to 
removing all of  your crew damage, ship damage, and 
fatigue, remove all status effects and return all command 
to the supply. Collect 7 EXTRA command and 10 XP. 
If  you are defeated a 2nd time, simply mark a defeat and 
continue to F2. If  you are defeated while playing brutal 
mode...’

BOX
Player count: This should be listed as 1-4, not 2-4.
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GENERAL
Q: Does Gloria’s ability let you draw 2 cards on a fate 
draw, or draw 2 cards into your hand?
A: Gloria’s ability lets you draw ability cards into your 
hand. Her ability cannot be used on fate draws. You can 
use it at any time. Note: Remember hand limit of  3, so if  
you ever have 4+ cards in hand, you must discard down.

Q: If  player 1 purchases a weapon from the market, can 
player 2 equip the weapon onto one of  their crew instead? 
If  one of  the crew from player 1 has a weapon can they 
just pass that weapon to another crew member? Can 
players swap crew members during their turn between 
players?
A: Yes, any player can equip the weapon. Players decide 
together who gets each weapon (in the case of  a dispute, 
the Captain player decides). Yes, you can pass weapons to 
other crew members at any time except during combat. 
No, players cannot swap crew members between turns.

Q: How does Laurent’s Watchful skill work?
A: When you use the deck, draw 1-3 tokens as normal. 
After this, draw 1 extra token. The damage from this token 
does not apply. Then, as normal, choose the reward from 
1 token. This ability is useful because it means you could draw 2 
tokens when using the Deck action but only take damage from the 
first (if  it has damage). Only 4 tokens have a negative effect, so 
your chances of  taking damage go down quite a bit. Also, if  you’re 
looking for specific food or resources, this helps you find it.

Q: We finished our first campaign and are restarting. We 
noticed the rules don’t start you with Quest 1 and Quest 2. 
Should you start with them?
A: Yes, you should start with them.
(Note: The intro scenario in the Quick Start Guide gives 
you quests 1 and 2.)

Q: The Refine ability lets me spend 1 command to repair 
the ship. Since I don’t put spent command on ability cards, 
I can always repair the ship as much as I want, at any time, 
as long as I have 1 command to spend. Is that right?
A: Right. There are intentionally several ways for players to 
repair ship damage. 

TRAVEL
Q: If  there is a Hazard in the first space I enter, can I 
travel more than 1 space after I resolve the challenge, no 
matter if  I win or lose it? 
A: Yes. If  you enter a hazard space you must complete 
the hazard’s challenge or take negative consequences 
(and you always draw fate even if  you decide not to 
fatigue anybody). After that you can take the remaining 
movement.

CHALLENGES
Q: Does at least 1 crew member need to “participate” and 
gain fatigue in each challenge?
A: No. You can choose to not give any crew member 
fatigue and simply move on to the draw fate step of  the 
challenge.

Q: For the rare challenge that is restricted to one person, if  
that person is controlled by the non-active player are they 
forced to spend a command token to have them participate 
or does the story condition override that rule?
A: In this rare case, the non-active player doesn’t need to 
spend a command.

Q: I recently came across a SIGHT challenge; is this the 
same as perception?
A: As for the “sight” challenge, that is something we 
missed. It should be “perception.”

COMBAT
Q: Can I place damage over the top of  previously-placed 
damage?
A: No, you may not. If, for example, you place 1 damage in 
a corner that is already surrounded by damage tokens from 
previous attacks, any unused damage is simply not placed.

Q: How do weapons work in combat?
A: You don’t have to choose one weapon per fight, but 
you do have to choose one weapon per attack action. Stats 
from equipped weapons don’t stack.

FAQ
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Q: Can you move weapons between crew during combat, 
or only outside of  combat?
A: You can only move weapons between crew members 
outside of  combat.

Q: Can a crew member have multiple synergy tokens on 
their crew board?
A: Yes, a crew member can have multiple synergy tokens, 
and they can even use them together on the same attack.
Q: Let’s say for example Rafael has a synergy token on 
Sofi’s board. If  Rafael is then reduced to 0 health, does his 
synergy token remain available to use on Sofi’s board?
A: Even if  Rafael is reduced to 0 health, you can still use 
his synergy token on Sofi’s board. Thematically, when a 
character reaches 0 health, it means that they’re just really 
hurt (instead of  knocked out or dead).

Q: Let’s say Rafael still has his synergy token on his own 
board. If  he then misses an attack and is reduced to 0 
health by the counterattack, then places a damage token 
on a space with a synergy symbol - do I still get to place 
Rafael’s synergy token on another character board?
A: If  Rafael misses an attack and is reduced to 0 health by 
the counterattack, but then places damage on a space with 
a synergy symbol, you still get to place Rafael’s synergy 
token on another character board.

Q: How does Marco’s synergy token really work?
A: When used, add an extra 2 damage to your total. Of  
that total, 2 must be placed in squares that aren’t hearts.

Q: If  you use an adventure card that deals damage without 
an attack to cover a synergy point (e.g. Stone of  Blood), 
who gets to give their synergy token?
A: Any one crew member (you choose).

Q: Can Stone of  Blood (45) be combined with an attack 
that does 1 damage to cover a heart worth 2?
A: Yes.

Q: A crew member attacks with Adrenaline active and hits. 
Base damage is 2, so I place 3 damage. Then, I discard the 
Adrenaline ability for an extra damage. Can I place that 
extra damage (4 total), or is 3 total damage still correct?
A: You trigger abilities sequentially, so you can get the 
bonus damage from Adrenaline, then discard it for another 
damage, for +2 total (4 total damage in the example 
above).

Q: A crew member attacks, misses, then resolves damage 
first due to the Rapid Strike ability. During the damage 
resolution, I discard Rapid Strike to get +1 damage. Does 
the damage still get applied first?
A: Yes. Once you’re in the “apply damage” phase, you can 
use various abilities and discard cards, but it won’t modify 
what combat step you’re in.

Q: Which goes first: Rapid Strike crew ability, or First 
Strike monster ability? Does it matter if  it’s a hit or a miss?
A: First Strike goes first. Doesn’t matter if  it’s a hit or a 
miss.

RECIPES
Q: Can you use the Alzarrian Cookbook to cook a one-
ingredient recipe using zero food?
A: Yes, you could cook these recipes with no food tokens.

Q: Can you use the Alzarrian Cookbook to cook a recipe 
that already has a command token on it?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: When can I cook a recipe? In the middle of  a non-
combat challenge? In the middle of  an exploration before 
making a choice? After reading text?
A: Any time, except during combat (rulebook page 18). 
“During combat” means any time after you’ve looked at 
the enemy cards and before they are defeated. If  you see 
there is combat about to happen, the game rules allow you 
to eat before fighting (thematically, you ate the food before 
the fight started).

EVENTS
Q: The Lost Sailor mild event card goes away when you 
“visit” a port. What does that mean exactly? 
A: When you take a port action or visit a location with a 
port symbol.

Q: Event Card Merchant Vessel: ‘Buy Food’ Pay 1 coin to 
gain 2 grain.. Can I pay 2 or more coins for more food, or 
is it only 1 coin for 2 grain ONLY?
A: You can only pay 1 coin for 2 grain in this event (you 
cannot repeat it and buy more grain).
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