## Guide to Alberta's Governing Party



## **The Governing Party Cabinet**

## BACKGROUND

The Cabinet, also known as the Executive Council, is made up of the Premier and Cabinet Ministers. As head of the Executive Council, the Premier selects Cabinet Ministers from MLAs of the governing party to lead a Ministry. As such, citizens do not elect their Cabinet Ministers in direct elections. However, Cabinet Ministers are elected representatives of the Legislative Assembly and play an important role in our system of governance (see CCVO's Election Toolkit Chapter 4: Navigating the Alberta Government).

On the following page is a list of those in the current Governing Party Cabinet, following the 2019 Alberta provincial election. Please take note of Ministries that are important to your organization's mission and mandate. There are 23 Ministries and 2 Parliamentary Secretaries in total. Please find more information, including bios and priorities for each minister here.

In addition to these important appointments listed on the following page, the government also announced deputy ministers. Deputy ministers are crucial contacts in ministries, as they are responsible for day-to-day operations and can be very valuable allies. Find a full list and bios of deputy ministers here.

## **GOVERNING PARTY CABINET**

Minister of Intergovernmental Relations: Jason Kenney (Premier and MLA for Calgary-Lougheed) Minister of Justice and Solicitor General: Kaycee Madu (MLA for Edmonton-South West) Minister of Health: Tyler Shandro (MLA for Calgary Acadia) Minister of **Transportation**: Ric McIver (MLA for Calgary-Hays) Minister of **Education**: Adriana LaGrange (MLA for Red Deer North) Minister of Jobs, Economy, and Innovation: Doug Schweitzer (MLA for Calgary-Elbow) Minister of Treasury Board and Finance: Travis Toews (MLA for Grande Prairie-Wapiti) Minister of Environment and Parks: Jason Nixon (MLA for Rimbey-Rocky Mountain House-Sundre) Minister of Agriculture and Forestry: Devin Dreeshen (MLA for Innisfail-Sylvan Lake) Minister of **Energy**: Sonya Savage (MLA for Calgary-North West) Minister of **Community and Social Services**: Rajan Sawhney (MLA for Calgary-North East) Minister of Seniors and Housing: Josephine Pon (MLA for Calgary-Beddington) Minister of **Children's Services**: Rebecca Shulz (MLA for Calgary-Shaw) Minister of Indigenous Relations: Rick Wilson (MLA for Maskwacis-Wetaskiwin) Minister of Advanced Education: Dimitri Nicolaides (MLA for Calgary-Bow) Minister of Culture, Multiculturalism, and Status of Women: Leela Aheer (MLA for Chestermere-Rockyview) Minister of Labour and Immigration: Jason Copping (MLA for Calgary-Varsity) Minister of **Municipal Affairs**: Tracy Allard (MLA for Grande Prairie) Minister of Infrastructure: Prasad Panda (MLA for Calgary-Edgemont) Minister of Service Alberta: Nate Glubish (MLA for Stathcona-Sherwood Park) Associate Minister of Red Tape Reduction: Grant Hunter (MLA for Taber-Warner) Associate Minister of Natural Gas: Dave Nally (MLA for Morinville-St. Albert) Associate Minister of Mental Health and Addictions: Jason Luan (MLA for Calgary-Foothills) Parliamentary Secretary of Immigration: Muhammad Yaseen (MLA for Calgary-North) Parliamentary Secretary for Alberta's Francophonie: Laila Goodridge (MLA for Fort McMurray-Lac La Biche)

Parliamentary Secretary to the **Minister of Community and Social Services:** Jeremy Nixon (MLA for Calgary-Klein)