September 9, 2021

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr. President of the United States 1600 Pennsylvania Ave NW Washington, D.C. 20500

The Honorable Chuck Schumer Majority Leader United States Senate 322 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Kamala Harris Vice President of the United States 1600 Pennsylvania Ave NW Washington, D.C. 20500

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House of Representatives United States House of Representatives U.S. Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear President Biden, Vice President Harris, Majority Leader Schumer, and Speaker Pelosi:

We, the undersigned mayors, respectfully request that you prioritize the inclusion of a pathway to citizenship for Dreamers, Temporary Protected Status (TPS) holders, essential workers, and their families in any economic recovery legislation including through budget reconciliation.

Today, there are an estimated <u>5 million undocumented immigrants</u> working in construction, agriculture, food services and production, transportation, healthcare, and other essential industries who have risked their lives and the lives of their families to keep our nation running during one of the most challenging periods in modern history.

As our state and local communities continue to confront a public health and economic catastrophe that has claimed more than 500,000 lives and exacerbated deep racial and economic inequities, it is vital that Congress enact protections for Dreamers, TPS holders, and essential immigrant workers to secure the health of our nation and to lay the foundation for an equitable economic recovery for all communities across the country.

Providing a path to citizenship for these individuals and their families not only recognizes the sacrifices they have made for all Americans over the past year, but also the important role they continue to play in America's economic recovery and long-term global competitiveness.

It's time for Congress to act. The only way we can truly Build Back Better is to ensure that Dreamers, TPS holders, and essential workers are included in any economic recovery legislation including through budget reconciliation.

Sincerely,

Mayor Randall L. Woodfin, Birmingham, Alabama

Mayor Regina Romero, Tucson, Arizona

Mayor Jesse Arreguin, Berkeley, California

Mayor Mary Casillas Salas, Chula Vista, California

Mayor Bryan Osorio, Delano, California

Mayor Robert Garcia, Long Beach, California

Mayor Eric Garcetti, Los Angeles, California

Mayor Libby Schaaf, Oakland, California

Mayor Steve Hofbauer, Palmdale, California

Mayor Tom Butt, Richmond, California

Mayor Todd Gloria, San Diego, California

Mayor Sam Liccardo, San José, California

Mayor Mike Coffman, Aurora, Colorado

Mayor Sam Weaver, Boulder, Colorado

Mayor Michael B. Hancock, Denver, Colorado

Mayor Marcia A. Leclerc, East Hartford, Connecticut

Mayor Justin Elicker, New Haven, Connecticut

Mayor Harry W. Rilling, Norwalk, Connecticut

Mayor Steve B. Wilson, Belle Glade, Florida

Mayor Tamara James, Dania Beach, Florida

Mayor Lauren Poe, Gainesville, Florida

Mayor Hazelle Rogers, Lauderdale Lakes, Florida

Mayor Ken Thurston, Lauderhill, Florida

Mayor Dan Gelber, Miami Beach, Florida

Mayor Daniella Levine Cava, Miami-Dade County, Florida

Mayor Wayne M. Messam, Miramar, Florida

Mayor Philippe Bien-Aime, North Miami, Florida

Mayor Sally B. Philips, South Miami, Florida

Mayor Michael J. Ryan, Sunrise, Florida

Mayor Keisha Lance Bottoms, Atlanta, Georgia

Mayor Lauren McLean, Boise, Idaho

Mayor Lori E. Lightfoot, Chicago, Illinois

Mayor Daniel Biss, Evanston, Illinois

Mayor Rick Sowers, Dodge City, Kansas

Mayor Greg Fischer, Louisville, Kentucky

Mayor Brandon M. Scott, Baltimore, Maryland

Mayor Timothy J. Adams, Bowie, Maryland

Mayor Rocio Treminio-Lopez, Brentwood, Maryland

Mayor Patrick Wojahn, College Park, Maryland

Mayor Colin Byrd, Greenbelt, Maryland

Mayor Celina R. Benitez, Mount Rainier, Maryland

Mayor Jeffrey Slavin, Somerset, Maryland

Mayor Kate Stewart, Takoma Park, Maryland

Mayor Kim Janey, Boston, Massachusetts

Mayor Sumbul Siddiqui, Cambridge, Massachusetts

Mayor Yvonne M. Spicer, Framingham, Massachusetts

Mayor Thomas M. McGee, Lynn, Massachusetts

Mayor Joseph A. Curtatone, Somerville, Massachusetts

Mayor Mike Duggan, Detroit, Michigan

Mayor Karen Majewski, Hamtramck, Michigan

Mayor Rosalynn Bliss, Grand Rapids, Michigan

Mayor Kurt Metzger, Pleasant Ridge, Michigan

Mayor Jacob Frey, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Mayor Melvin Carter, Saint Paul, Minnesota

Mayor Tishaura O. Jones, St. Louis, Missouri

Mayor Daniel Corona, West Wendover, Nevada

Mayor Steven M. Fulop, Jersey City, New Jersey

Mayor Ras J. Baraka, Newark, New Jersey

Mayor Adrian O. Mapp, Plainfield, New Jersey

Mayor Mark Freda, Princeton, New Jersey

Mayor Brian P. Stack, Union City, New Jersey

Mayor Timothy M. Keller, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Mayor Diana Murillo-Trujillo, Anthony, New Mexico

Mayor Alan Webber, Santa Fe, New Mexico

Mayor Javier Perea, Sunland Park, New Mexico

Mayor Byron W. Brown, Buffalo, New York

Mayor Svante Myrick, Ithaca, New York

Mayor Bill de Blasio, New York, New York

Mayor Lovely A. Warren, Rochester, New York

Mayor Ben Walsh, Syracuse, New York

Mayor Esther Manheimer, Asheville, North Carolina

Mayor Rennie W. Brantz, Boone, North Carolina

Mayor Ian Baltutis, Burlington, North Carolina

Mayor Lydia Lavelle, Carrboro, North Carolina

Mayor Pam Hemminger, Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Mayor Steve Schewel, Durham, North Carolina

Mayor Jennifer Weaver, Hillsborough, North Carolina

Mayor TJ Cawley, Town of Morrisville, North Carolina

Mayor Mary-Ann Baldwin, Raleigh, North Carolina

Mayor Lacey Beaty, Beaverton, Oregon

Mayor Emily Marburger, Bellevue, Pennsylvania

Mayor Timothy A. Scott, Carlisle, Pennsylvania

Mayor Joseph Schember, Erie, Pennsylvania

Mayor James F. Kenney, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Mayor William Peduto, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Mayor Eddie Moran, Reading, Pennsylvania

Mayor Paige G. Cognetti, Scranton, Pennsylvania

Mayor Marita Garrett, Wilkinsburg, Pennsylvania

Mayor Jorge O. Elorza, Providence, Rhode Island

Mayor Tim Kelly, Chattanooga, Tennessee

Mayor Indya Kincannon, Knoxville, Tennessee

Mayor Jim Strickland, Memphis, Tennessee

Mayor John Cooper, Nashville, Tennessee

Mayor Steve Adler, Austin, Texas

Mayor Eric Johnson, Dallas, Texas

Mayor Sylvester Turner, Houston, Texas

Mayor Erin Mendenhall, Salt Lake City, Utah

Mayor Jenny Wilson, Salt Lake County, Utah

Mayor Levar Stoney, Richmond, Virginia

Mayor Cassie Franklin, Everett, Washington

Mayor Jenny A. Durkan, Seattle, Washington

Mayor Victoria R. Woodards, Tacoma, Washington

Mayor Anne McEnerny-Ogle, Vancouver, Washington

Mayor Satya Rhodes-Conway, Madison, Wisconsin