



Australian Academy of Technology & Engineering

Towards a Waste Free Future: Technology Readiness in Waste and Resource Recovery

Increased recycling of plastics by sensing and treating label contamination

Seminar

Tuesday 27 April 2021

2:30 to 5:30pm

Sydney Startup Hub 11-31 York Street, Sydney, NSW

and Online

Lead Partner



Research Partners





Dairy Australia

Industry Partners











Increased recycling of plastics by sensing and treating label contamination

Towards a Waste Free Future: Technology Readiness in Waste and Resource Recovery

The NSW Smart Sensing Network has brought together a world-leading team of research and industry partners to tackle the key problems in the way of greater recycling rates in Australia. This work coincides with the publication of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering's report into how technology can help Australian industry transition towards a circular economy.

This seminar looks at current research and development work being undertaken to tackle the challenges and to explore future directions.

AGENDA

2:30pm	Welcome by host
	Dr Susan Pond AM FTSE - NSSN Chair and ATSE Working Group
2:35pm	Opening remarks – Government
	The Hon. Gabrielle Upton MP, Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier of NSW
2:45pm	Opening remarks – Industry
	Dairy Australia - Mr Ian Olmsted
2:50pm	Current research and development
	PEGRAS - Mr Ian Byrne
	UTS – Dr Melita Jazbec
	University of Sydney - Prof Brian Hawkett
	UNSW Sydney - Prof Yansong Shen
3:40pm	Expert panel
	Moderator - Ms Lisa McLean - Circular Economy Network
	Labelmakers – Ms Jessica Walters
	University of Sydney - Prof Thomas Maschmeyer FAA FTSE MAE FRACI FRSN
	Bega - Mr Ad van Dijk
4:40pm	Closing remarks
4:50pm	Reception
	Drinks and Nibbles
5:30pm	Close



Australian Government

Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources







SPEAKERS

Dr Susan Pond AM FTSE

Susan is a senior leader in business & academia, recognised for her national & international contributions in medicine, science & technology. She is Chair of the NSW Smart Sensing Network and President of the Royal Society of NSW.

The Hon. Gabrielle Upton MP

Ms Upton is Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier of NSW and Member for Vaucluse. Gabrielle recently led the *Accelerating R&D in NSW* initiative, which has resulted in an ambitious action plan to increase R&D and innovation activity across NSW.

Mr Ian Olmsted

Ian is Dairy Australia's Program Manager for Manufacturing Innovation & Sustainability. He is responsible for manufacturing challenges, collaborative initiatives and transfer of technology.

Mr Ian Byrne

lan is a Technology Consultant for PEGRAS with a background in Industrial Chemistry (UNSW) and business development (MBA UTS) focused on new innovation.

Dr Melita Jazbec

Melita specialises in Resource, Energy and Water Futures with strong emphasis on the circular economy and waste management..

Associate Professor Brian Hawkett

Brian is the Director of the Key Centre For Polymer Colloids at the University of Sydney.

Associate Professor Yansong Shen

Yansong Shen is an ARC Future Fellow and the Director of the Process Modelling and Optimisation of Reaction and Separation "ProMO Lab" at UNSW Sydney.



Australian Government

Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources







Australian Academy of Technology & Engineering

SPEAKERS

Ms Lisa McLean

Lisa is the CEO of NSW Circular, a government- funded circular economy innovation network leading the transition to a zero-carbon circular economy in NSW and Australia.

Ms Jessica Walters

Experienced General Manager with a demonstrated history of working in the beverages industry in marketing, relationships, and business development.

Professor Thomas Maschmeyer FAA FTSE MAE FRACI FRSN

Thomas is Professor of Chemistry at the University of Sydney and Executive Chairman at Gelion Technologies.

Mr Ad van Dijk

Ad is the Q-R&D Packaging & Technology Director at Bega Cheese Limited.



Australian Government

Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources

