

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Dave Borchardt Director, Events 816.389.4191

2017 Award Recipients Announced for Kansas City Sports Commission Awards Banquet

KANSAS CITY, MO (March 27, 2017) – The Kansas City Sports Commission is excited to celebrate five outstanding individuals for their commitment and achievements in sports during the 44th Kansas City Sports Commission Awards Banquet on Wednesday, April 26.

Waddell & Reed Executive of the Year: Dr. Bob Boerigter – Dr. Boerigter is the former commissioner of the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association. He has served 45 years in intercollegiate athletics with nine of those years at Northwest Missouri State University, five of those as the MIAA Commissioner, and as the Athletic Director for five institutions over the years. Boerigter also played a large role in helping to bring the NCAA DII Football National Championship back to Kansas City after it being hosted in Alabama for 28 years.

Kansas City Marriott Downtown Sportsman of the Year: Kyle Zimmerman – As quarterback, Zimmerman led the Northwest Missouri State football team to a 15-0 season and an NCAA DII Championship title in 2016. He is a graduate of Blue Valley High School and boasted impressive numbers both athletically and academically, as he maintained a 3.95 GPA while pursuing a degree in Business.

JE Dunn Sportswoman of the Year: Cassie Wait – Wait is the Libero for University of Kansas Volleyball. She was named Big 12 Libero of the Year in 2016 and is one of the top defensive specialists in the country. During the 2016 season, she led the Big 12 Conference in digs per set, while guiding Kansas to their first-ever conference title. Wait then helped lead the Jayhawks to a win over No. 1 ranked USC in the NCAA Tournament Regional Final, giving Kansas their first-ever appearance in the Final Four. She ended her collegiate career with 1,985 digs putting her at second in the KU record book.

Burns & McDonnell Coach of the Year: Eric Driskell (awarded posthumously) – Driskell served as head coach for the Blue Valley High School Football team. He led them to two State Championships, one in his first season as head coach in 2010 and another in 2013. An alumnus of Blue Valley High School himself, he also won state as a football player in 1991. During the 2016 season, the Blue Valley HS Football team finished second after an undefeated regular season and the Kansas City Chiefs named Driskell the Kansas High School Football Coach of the Year.

Children's Mercy Community Champion: Dan Sudeikis – Sudeikis, Team Host Chair of the Host Committee for Kansas City Basketball events, led the first team host program in 1983 and established a prestigious benchmark for all future NCAA events. He has worked with the Big Eight, Big 12, and NCAA Men's Basketball Championships for over 30 years. He is instrumental in helping to create and manage successful events in Kansas City and is a key partner of the NCAA and Local Organizing Committee partners.

The Awards Banquet will be Wednesday, April 26 at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown-Muehlebach Tower. A reception will start at 5:30 p.m. with dinner and the program starting at 7 p.m. To purchase a sponsorship package call 816.389.4191 or visit sportke.org.

About The Kansas City Sports Commission and Foundation

The mission of the Kansas City Sports Commission & Foundation is to drive Kansas City's overall sports strategy, to enrich the quality of life, create economic impact and raise visibility for our region. As a privately-funded nonprofit, we are entirely dependent on your support. For the latest on Kansas City Sports Commission news, follow on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube. Also follow the Waddell & Reed Kansas City Marathon on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.