Comments from public consultation of Eastmain-1 Development

The assessment report of Eastmain-1 Development did not receive any comments during the public consultation period, which spxd from 29 May 2023 to 28 July 2023.

As part of its HSS certification process, Hydro-Québec has taken a proactive approach with stakeholders. Four independent observers were invited to accompany the assessors during the Eastmain-1 site visit. These observers came from provincial (RNCREQ), national (WWF Canada), American (Acadia Center) and international (WWF International) environmental groups.

At the start of the public consultation process, the independent observers who attended the site visit, as well as the other stakeholders interviewed during the assessment process, were notified of the publication of the preliminary report, and were invited to transmit their comments to the Hydropower Sustainability Council.

A collaborative approach has been taken by Hydro-Québec with the Indigenous communities impacted by the Eastmain-1 Development. The assessment process toward HSS Certification was presented twice to the Monitoring Committee, in June and October 2022, to the Rupert Water Management Board in June, and to the Niskamoon Corporation Board in July.

The preliminary report was shared with the Cree members of the Monitoring Committee on 21 February 2023.

The team of independent assessors, Joerg Hartmann, Margaret Trias, and Miles Scott-Brown, participated in the Monitoring Committee meeting on 13 April 2023, gathering valuable feedback from the representatives of the Cree communities who sit in this committee. They had 51 days to familiarise themselves with the report before the official public consultation.

Following this meeting, the assessors incorporated the received comments and feedback into the report and made the necessary changes.

The Monitoring Committee boasts a representative from each of the 6 Cree communities that stand impacted by the project. They are known as "Niskamoon Officers." The Cree communities residing within the affected territory encompass Eastmain, Wemindji, Waskaganish, Nemaska, Chisasibi, and Mistissini.

Additionally, representatives from the Cree communities were interviewed throughout the assessment process. The Chiefs and Councils of each impacted community were also extended an invitation to meet with the assessors before the finalisation of the report, fostering collaborative dialogue and understanding.

This information can be found in Annex 1 of the report.