

The American Institute of Architects, San Diego Chapter

# 29 Recipients Receive Design Awards in San Diego

Architects Honored in Prestigious San Diego Design Awards Program

Contact: Leigh Eisen EVP & CEO (619)-232-0109 Leisen@aiasandiego.org

**SAN DIEGO, Oct. 29** – The American Institute of Architects, San Diego Chapter (AIASD), proudly announces this year's Design Award recipients—a list honoring innovative design, with an emphasis on sustainability over a broad range of categories.

Award winners were announced to the AIA San Diego membership on Thursday, October 29<sup>th</sup> at their annual Design Awards ceremony, taking place for the first time virtually due to COVID-19, where all proceeds will benefit the San Diego Center for Design.

In August, a five-person jury deliberated between record amounts of more than 100 entries and refined the list to a select group who will be honored from the (virtual) podium at the awards ceremony. The buildings span a spectrum from residential to institutional and included multifamily, higher education, commercial, municipal, research, renovation/restoration, retail and urban design.

This year's jury comprised five dynamic voices from AIA Washington DC: Jury Chair: Mary Katherine Lanzillotta, FAIA,LEED AP, Greg Mella, FAIA, LEED AP BD+C, Joanna Schmickel, AIA, LEED AP, Rick Harlan Schneider, AIA, APA, LEED AP, and Michelle Amt, AIA, LEED AP BD+C, WELL AP.

A special AIA San Diego committee identified additional honorees in select categories: Patron of the Year, Energy Efficiency (in cooperation with SDG&E/SavingsByDesign), Proyectos y Arquitectos de Tijauan, Accessory Dwelling Units, and the Legacy Award.

In addition, a separate locally recruited jury convened to deliberate over the Student Design Awards—a category focused on acknowledging quality design from our senior or graduate students in the region's two accredited schools of architecture - NewSchool of Architecture & Design and Woodbury University San Diego. Of ten entries, three honorees were chosen for their well-thought out and transformative designs.

#### In the Category of ...

## <u>Architecture</u>

- 1. Gloria Dei Lutheran Church domusstudio architecture: Merit Award
- 2. The Fort Jonathan Segal FAIA: Merit Award
- 3. San Ysidrio Land Port of Entry, Phase 3 The Miller Hull Partnership: Merit Award
- 4. Washington Street Apartments Studio E Architects: Merit Award
- 5. Asilong Christian High School BNIM: Honor Award

 Lyle and Grace Prescott Memorial Prayer Chapel, Point Loma Nazarene University - Carrier Johnson + CULTURE: Honor Award

#### **Interior Architecture**

7. The Children's Workshop - Kevin deFrietas Architects: Merit Award

### **Divine Detail**

- 8. Music Building for Mira Mesa High School Architects Mosher Drew: Merit Award
- 9. Villa Cubo Matthew Segal Development: Merit Award
- 10. Lyle and Grace Prescott Memorial Prayer Chapel, Point Loma Nazarene University Carrier Johnson + CULTURE: Honor Award

#### **Unbuilt Design**

- 11. San Diego State Aztec Stadium Gensler: Merit Award
- 12. Marisol Gensler: Honor Award
- 13. Plant Growth Environments Research Facility HKS Architects: Honor Award

#### **Urban Design**

- 14. Arts District at Liberty Station obr Architecture: Merit Award
- 15. Ventura Beach and Town Project Roesling Nakamura Terada Architects: Merit Award
- 16. The Theatre District Living and Learning Neighborhood HKS Architects and Ehrlich Yanai Rhee Chaney (EYRC) Architects: Merit Award

#### Residential Design

- 17. Avocado Acres Lloyd Russell: Merit Award
- 18. Villa Cubo Matthew Segal Development: Merit Award

#### AIA San Diego Committee Awards

- 19. Mansfield ADU and Garden Pavilion- PA-LO Architects: Accessory Dwelling Unit Award
- 20. Geisel Library UCSD: Legacy Award
- 21. MLK Promenade City of San Diego/Centre City Dev. Corp.: Legacy Award
- 22. Modular Clinic CRO Studio: Proyectos y Arquitectos de Tijuana Award
- 23. Apan Social Housing CRO Studio: Proyectos y Arquitectos de Tijuana Award
- 24. Business Center Tijuana Border Arquitectos: Proyectos y Arquitectos de Tijuana Award
- 25. CH3 Housing CRO Studio: Proyectos y Arquitectos de Tijuana Award
- 26. Casa de las Ideas CRO Studio: Proyectos y Arquitectos de Tijuana Award

#### Student Design Awards

- 27. Guma-ña Kathleen Alviz NewSchool of Architecture and Design
- 28. Symbiotic City Francesca Redetzke- Newschool of Architecture and Design
- 29. The Polluted Garden in the Sun- Aaron Zamarrón Woodbury University

#### **ABOUT THE DESIGN AWARDS**

The AIA San Diego Design Awards program was created to highlight outstanding architecture; to elevate the standards of great design; and to inspire, educate and influence the public. Originally instituted in 1960 as the biennial "Honor Awards Program," the program became an annual event in 1982 in response to increased participation, growing AIA visibility and heightened design awareness.

Founded in 1928, AIA San Diego Chapter is a local component of the American Institute of Architects, and is a 501(c)(6) organization. The organization represents approximately 1,000 members located throughout the region. The chapter provides a variety of services, resources, and support to the local

architecture & design community as well as publicly advocating on behalf of design values in the community. <a href="https://www.aiasandiego.org">www.aiasandiego.org</a>.

###