

March 28, 2019

The Honorable Benjamin L. Cardin 509 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Andy Harris, MD 2334 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger 2206 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable John Sarbanes 2370 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Anthony Brown 1323 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Christopher Van Hollen 110 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20501

The Honorable Steny Hoyer 1705 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable David Trone 1213 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Elijah Cummings 2163 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Jamie Raskin 412 Cannon House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

Re: Ownership & Maintenance of the Baltimore-Washington Parkway

Dear Senator Cardin and Senator Van Hollen and Representatives Harris, Ruppersberger, Sarbanes, Brown, Hoyer, Trone, Cummings, and Raskin,

We are writing to express our strong opposition to Governor Hogan's request to transfer the federal portion of the Baltimore-Washington Parkway from the Department of Interior to the State of Maryland and to ask you to continue pushing the Department of Interior-National Park Service to repair the Parkway and maintain it in a state of good repair. We appreciate that the Department has begun to make repairs, and that work must continue.

In a March 20th letter to you, Governor Hogan requested this transfer, blaming the National Park Service for the road's congestion and crashes. Hogan indicated that not only would transferring the ownership to the State allow Maryland to maintain the road in better condition, but would also "allow the state to pursue its plan to add four toll lanes to the parkway, which carriers 120,000 commuters daily. The Maryland Transportation Authority would build operate and maintain the lanes." This transfer is a poor idea for several reasons.

First and foremost, Maryland does not have the ability to take on additional transportation expenditures or debt service to repair and maintain the BW Parkway. Our Transportation Trust Fund has reached capacity and is oversubscribed in its 6-year Consolidated Transportation Program. Neither Governor Hogan nor Secretary Pete Rahn has offered any ideas to increase revenue for the fund that would allow for the state to pay to repair and maintain a major new highway. Many of our state's needs are already not being met - adding a huge new expense like maintenance of the BW Parkway would simply push other projects further from being completed.

Second, the Governor's proposal includes adding toll roads operated by MdTA. Toll roads are an inefficient and backwards way to fund transportation and necessary infrastructure. The idea that new toll roads will pay for themselves while reducing congestion sounds like an easy solution, but evidence has proven otherwise. In addition, any expansion of the BW Parkway would necessitate paving an enormous amount of land. The land adjacent to the Parkway is owned by federal, state, and multiple local governments, in addition to private individuals. The Parkway runs through Greenbelt Park and the Patuxent Research Refuge, it abuts institutions like the National Cryptologic Museum, and the NSA, and travels right next to hundreds and hundreds of homes that would need to be demolished to make room for additional lanes, including Highland Village, Lakeland, and East Riverdale.

We appreciate you recognizing its poor condition and strongly support your decision to expedite the repairing plan.

Thank you for your service. Again, we urge you to resist Governor Hogan's request to give Maryland control and ownership of the BW Parkway and instead continue to focus your efforts on ensuring that the federal government maintain the Parkway in a state of good repair.

Sincerely,

Senator Joanne Benson, D-24 Senator Paul Pinsky, D-22 Delegate Brooke Lierman, D-46 Delegate Erek Barron, D-24 Senator Malcolm Augustine, D-47 Senator William Smith, D-20 Delegate Marc Korman, D-16 Delegate David Fraser-Hidalgo, D-15 Delegate Vanessa Atterbeary, D-13 Delegate Sandy Bartlett, D-32 Delegate Kumar Barve, D-17 Delegate Tony Bridges, D-41 Delegate Alice Cain, D-30A Delegate Al Carr, D-18 Delegate Lorig Charkoudian, D-20 Delegate Charlotte Crutchfield, D-19 Delegate Debra Davis, D-25 Delegate Jessica Feldmark, D-12 Delegate Tawanna Gaines, D-22 Delegate Anne Healey, D-22 Delegate Shelly Hettleman, D-11

Delegate Terri Hill, D-12

Delegate Julian Ivey, D-47A

Delegate Michael Jackson, D-27B

Delegate Ariana Kelly, D-16 Delegate Mary Lehman, D-21 Delegate Jazz Lewis, D-24 Delegate Robbyn Lewis, D-46 Delegate Karen Lewis-Young, D-3A Delegate Mary Ann Lisanti, D-34A Delegate Sara Love, D-16 Delegate Julie Palakovich Carr, D-17 Delegate Joseline Pena-Melnyk, D-21 Delegate Mike Rogers, D-32 Delegate Jared Solomon, D-18 Delegate Vaughn Stewart, D-19 Delegate Charles Sydnor, D-44B Delegate Jen Terrasa, D-13 Delegate Kriselda Valderrama, D-26 Delegate Ron Watson, D-23B