

The 18th Annual Sterling awards were presented June 20, 2005 at the Mayfield Dinner Theatre in Edmonton with hosts Michele Brown & Peter Brown. The Sterling Newcomers were Melissa MacPherson & Mark Jenkins.

# **Outstanding Production of a Play**

faithless (Catalyst Theatre)
Marion Bridge (Theatre Network)
Shakespeare's Will (Freewill Shakespeare Festival/The Citadel Theatre)
Shockers Delight! (Teatro La Quindicina)

## **Outstanding Production of a Musical**

The Black Rider (Theatre Network/November Theatre)

Spitfire Grill (Leave it to Jane)
Weill in Weimar 1929 (Edmonton Opera)

West Side Story (The Citadel Theatre)

# Outstanding New Play (award to playwright)

faithless by Chris Craddock and Steve Pirot (Catalyst Theatre)

Lobster Telephone by Jocelyn Ahlf, Belinda Cornish, Mark Meer & Celina Stachow (Panties Productions)

The Salon of the Talking Turk by Stewart Lemoine (Teatro La Quindicina)

Shakespeare's Will by Vern Thiessen (Freewill Shakespeare Festival/The Citadel Theatre)

Summer of My Amazing Luck by Chris Craddock (Theatre Network)

#### Outstanding Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role

April Banigan, My One and Only (Workshop West)

Nicola Cavendish, Shirley Valentine (The Citadel Theatre)

Jan Alexandra Smith, Shakespeare's Will (Freewill Shakespeare Festival/The Citadel Theatre)

Davina Stewart, Marion Bridge (Theatre Network)

#### Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role

Darrin Hagen, Hosanna (Theatre Network)
Ron Pederson, Shockers Delight! (Teatro la Quindicina)
Steve Pirot, faithless (Catalyst Theatre)

Tom Wood, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof (The Citadel Theatre)

# Outstanding Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role

Marianne Copithorne, Fever-land (Teatro la Quindicina)
Pamela Gordon, West Side Story (The Citadel Theatre)
Andrea House, Boston Marriage (Shadow Theatre)
Caroline Livingstone, Marion Bridge (Theatre Network)

#### Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role

Skye Brandon, The Credeaux Canvas (Northern Light Theatre)
Clinton Carew, The Black Rider (Theatre Network/November Theatre)
Glenn Nelson, My One and Only (Workshop West)
Jeff Page, Hosanna (Theatre Network)

## **Outstanding Director**

Marianne Copithorne, faithless (Catalyst Theatre)
Ron Jenkins, The Black Rider (Theatre Network/November Theatre)
Bradley Moss, Summer of My Amazing Luck (Theatre Network)
Trevor Schmidt, The Beard (Northern Light Theatre)

#### **Outstanding Independent Production**

Fool for Love (Kill Your Television)

Lobster Telephone (Panties Productions)

Pause (Etcetera Theatre Collective)

Stand Up Homo (The gay4pay co-op)

#### **Outstanding Set Design**

David Boechler, The Goat or, Who is Sylvia? (The Citadel Theatre)

Marissa Kochanski, Marion Bridge (Theatre Network)

Roger Schultz, Hosanna (Theatre Network)

Raymond Spittal, The Credeaux Canvas (Northern Light Theatre)

Guido Tondino, Shakespeare's Will (Freewill Shakespeare Festival/The Citadel Theatre)

#### **Outstanding Costume Design**

Leona Brausen, Shockers Delight! (Teatro la Quindicina)

Leona Brausen, Marion Bridge (Theatre Network)

Deanna Finnmann, The Emperor of Atlantis (Edmonton Opera/Workshop West)

Roger Schultz, Hosanna (Theatre Network)

#### **Outstanding Lighting Design**

Bretta Gerecke, Carmen Angel (Catalyst Theatre)

Michael Kruse, The Black Rider (Theatre Network/November Theatre)

Roger Schultz, Hosanna (Theatre Network)

Robert Thomson, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof (The Citadel Theatre)

#### Outstanding Score of a Play or Musical

Dave Clarke, Shakespeare's Will (Freewill Shakespeare Festival/The Citadel Theatre)

Aaron Macri, faithless (Catalyst Theatre)

Ryan Sigurdson, Water's Daughter (Northern Light Theatre)

Chris Wynters, My One and Only (Workshop West)

#### **Outstanding Musical Director**

Peter Dala, Weill in Weimar 1929 (Edmonton Opera)

Janice Flower, Water's Daughter (Northern Light Theatre)

Don Horsburgh, West Side Story (The Citadel Theatre)

Corinne Kessel, The Black Rider (Theatre Network/November Theatre)

## **Outstanding Choreography or Fight Direction**

Amber Borotsik, The Beard (Northern Light Theatre)

Denise Clarke, West Side Story (The Citadel Theatre)

Paul Gélineau, West Side Story (The Citadel Theatre)

Marie Nychka, The Black Rider (Theatre Network/November Theatre)

David Storch, The Goat or, Who is Sylvia? (The Citadel Theatre)

#### **Outstanding Fringe Production**

Ashes to Ashes (Trunk Theatre)

Little Room (Flush the Jon Theatre)

The Mystery School (Bruised Mango Productions)

Pilk's Madhouse (Ribbit Productions)

Real Time (Girls with Curls)

# Outstanding Fringe New Work (award to playwright)

Breaking Face by Ryan Hughes and Morgan Smith with Jeremy Baumung, Amber Bissonnette and Ryan Parker (Human Loser Theatre)

Counting Americans by Bridget Ryan and Dave Horak (To The Moon and Back Productions)

Make Me by Cathleen Rootsaert (Waldorf and Statler Productions)

The Play I Did at Last Year's Fringe by Paul Matwychuk (Schnook Theatre)

Real Time by Matt Alden (Girls with Curls)

#### **Outstanding Fringe Performance by an Actress**

Maralyn Ryan, Counting Americans (To the Moon and Back Productions)
Vanessa Sabourin, Real Time (Girls with Curls)
Liana Shannon, Ashes to Ashes (Trunk Theatre)

Blair Wensley, The Mystery School (Bruised Mango Productions)

## **Outstanding Fringe Performance by an Actor**

Matt Alden, Real Time (Girls with Curls)

Chris Fassbender, Make Me (Waldorf and Statler Productions)

John Sproule, Ashes to Ashes (Trunk Theatre)

Jon Stewart, Little Room (Flush the Jon Theatre)

Scott Walters, Pilk's Madhouse (Ribbit Productions)

#### **Outstanding Fringe Director**

Julien Arnold, Make Me (Waldorf and Statler Productions)

Amy DeFelice, Ashes to Ashes (Trunk Theatre)

Beth Mackey, Real Time (Girls with Curls)

Mieko Ouchi, The Mystery School (Bruised Mango Productions)

#### **Outstanding Production for Young Audiences**

A Giraffe in Paris (The Citadel Theatre)

I Met a Bully on the Hill (The Citadel Theatre/Quest Theatre)

Muncha Buncha Munsch (The Citadel Theatre)

Myles the Hypoallergenic Superhero (Small Dog Productions)

Snowflake (La Joye Productions/Fringe Theatre Adventures)

#### **Outstanding Individual Achievement in Production**

Brad Fischer, technical director

Kristen Kendrew, lighting/electrics

Wayne Paquette, stage manager

Mike Takats, technical director

# The Margaret Mooney Award for Outstanding Achievement in Administration

Flo Schultz

# Outstanding Contribution to Theatre in Edmonton

Grant MacEwan College Theatre Arts and Theatre Production Programs