

August 7, 2020

The Honorable Kyrsten Sinema United States Senate

The Honorable Tom O'Halleran United States Congress

The Honorable Raúl M. Grijalva United States Congress

The Honorable Andy Biggs United States Congress

The Honorable Ruben Gallego United States Congress The Honorable Martha McSally United States Senate

The Honorable Ann Kirkpatrick United States Congress

The Honorable Paul Gosar United States Congress

The Honorable David Schweikert United States Congress

The Honorable Debbie Lesko United States Congress

The Honorable Greg Stanton United States Congress

Dear Members of the Arizona Congressional Delegation:

We write today seeking your support on two pieces of pending, bi-partisan legislation that are critical to the economic stability and well-being of Tucson. These bills are S. 4258, the Save Our Stages (SOS) Act introduced by Senators Cornyn and Klobuchar, and S. 3814/H.R. 7481, the RESTART Act, introduced by Senators Young and Bennet in the Senate, and Representatives Golden and Kelly in the House. Thank you very much to those of you who are already co-sponsoring this legislation.

With Tucson's designation in 2015 as a UNESCO City of Gastronomy, our local venues and performing arts organizations were flourishing before the pandemic hit, bringing new locally-owned restaurants, hotels, residential complexes and large businesses, such as Caterpillar, to our downtown and other areas of the city. Our local arts and culture scene have been important economic drivers to the community. Unfortunately, COVID-19 has caused all arts venues and many restaurants to close, and they will be unable to re-open without your help.

The Payroll Protection Program (PPP) did not work for local venues and performing arts organizations because the nature of their business models require large groups of people to congregate – which is strictly prohibited – causing them to close. These valuable organizations and venues need long-term support that can pay for overhead costs. The SOS Act and RESTART Act both offer more flexible assistance that is not available under PPP. Venues across the country are experiencing upwards of 90% revenue loss and will be closed well into 2021 due to safety concerns posed by large gatherings. According to the National Independent Venue Association, without support from Congress, 90% of independent venues across America say they will be forced to close their doors forever in the absence of financial relief.

This would be devastating for Tucson's economy. Independent venues and performing arts organizations are economic multipliers, community builders, and beloved institutions that are at the heart of Tucson's cultural and economic fabric. The devastation of these venues closing permanently would also impact the entire music economy and cultural ecosystem in America – artists, talent agents, stagehands, security, catering, artist managers, the tour bus industry, production, radio/social media/tv/print advertising, record companies, and many others.

We are respectfully asking you to support and cosponsor S. 4258, the Save Our Stages Act and S. 3814/H.R. 7481, the RESTART Act. Doing so, would ensure that independent venues and performing arts organizations receive the financial assistance needed to re-open their doors and resume performances when it is safe to do so.

Thank you for your diligent work for Arizona and Tucson during these difficult times.

In Community,

Tucson Mayor Regina Romero

Bonnie Schock – Executive Director, Fox Tucson Theatre Adriana Gallego – Executive Director, Arts Foundation for Tucson and Southern Arizona Geri Wright – Managing Director, Arizona Theatre Company Cynthia Meier – Managing & Associate Artistic Director, The Rogue Theatre Steven Haines – President & CEO, Tucson Symphony Orchestra Curtis McCrary – Executive Director, The Rialto Theatre Foundation Joseph McGrath – Artistic Director, The Rogue Theatre Kris Kerry – Talent Buyer, Rialto Theatre LeighAnn Sotomayor – Center for the Arts manager, Pima Community College Center for the Arts Susan Claassen – Managing Artistic Director, Invisible Theatre Ryan Lameyer – CEO, Phenomenon Concerts Stephen Chilton – Owner, Psyko Steve Presents Daniel Hernandez – Talenty Buyer/Manager, 191 Toole Justin M Carroll – Ballet Tucson Vivian VanPeenen – Board Member, Ballet Tucson Bryan Falcon – Artistic and Managing Director, The Scoundrel and Scamp Theatre Kate Marguez - Executive Director, Southern Arizona Arts & Cultural Alliance Jonathon Crider – Executive Director, Tucson Pops Orchestra Glenn Grabski – General Manager, Tucson Convention Center Sharon O'Brien – Artistic Director, Literacy Connects Nancy March – Board President, True Concord Voices and Orchestra Michael Martinez – Executive Director, Live Theatre Workshop Thomas R. Moulton – Executive Director, Southern Arizona Attractions Alliance Kaety Byerley – Vice President, Arizona Friends of Chamber Music Joseph Thomas Tolliver – President of the Board of Directors/Program Director, Arizona Friends of Chamber Music David Slutes – Entertainment Director, Hotel Congress Andrew Schulz – Vice President Arizona Arts & Dean, College of Fine Arts Chad Herzog – Executive Director, UA Presents/Centennial Hall Herb Stratford – President, Historic Theatre Consultants Leia Maahs – Managing Director, Southwest Folklife Alliance Inc. (dba Tucson Meet Yourself Folklife Festival) Kris Siuda – Director of Marketing & Events, Marshall Foundation Fred Martinez – Manager, El Casino Ballroom Lisa Hastreiter-Lamb – Executive Director, The Mini Time Machine Museum of Miniatures Mary-Gray Lopez – Office Manager, Tucson Arizona Boys Chorus Chris Seidman – Executive Director, Unscrewed Theater Eileen Bagnall – Executive Director, ARTabilityAX Jenni Sunshine – President, Valley of the Moon Brandon Howell – Managing Director, Arizona Rose Theatre Shelly Hawkins – Artistic Director, Hawkinsdance Michelle G. Conkin – Executive Director, Tucson Botanical Gardens Jill Brammer – Owner, Che's Lounge Peggy Johnson – Executive Director, Loft Cinema, Inc. Diane P Perry – President, Tucson Kitchen Musicians Association Bryan Castle – Owner, Movement Culture & Tucson Capoeira Lynn Davis – Executive Director, Sonoran Glass School Evan Mendelson – Past President, Arts Foundation for Tucson and Southern Arizona Richard Miller – Chair, Executive Committee, Sons of Orpheus Barclay Goldsmith – Member, Tucson Labyrinth Theater Project

Yurika Isoe – Board member, Warehouses Arts Management Organization Anne Breckenridge Barrett – Associate Vice President for the Arts and Director of the Center for Creative Photography

Em Martin Brott – Executive Director, The Drawing Studio

Marc D Pinate – Producing Artistic Director, Borderlands Theater

Patricia Deridder – Executive Director, Yume Japanese Gardens of Tucson

Karen Falkenstrom – Director, Odaiko Sonora / Rhythm Industry Performance Factory

Patricia Young – Immediate Past Chairman, Board of Directors Tucson Youth Music Center

Patricia Young – Treasurer, Tucson Postpartum Depression Coalition

Yvonne Montoya – Director, Safos Dance Theatre

Kenneth Rosenblatt – President, Arizona Repertory Singers

Karen F. Wiese – Executive Director, Arts Express Inc

Jeremy Mikolajczak – CEO, Tucson Museum of Art

Brandi Haga-Blackman – Director, Admin Rio Nuevo

Christine Conte – Executive Director, Tohono Chul

Michael Vietinghoff – Founding Director, Unscrewed Theater

Dawn Vandaveer – Board President, FEATSAZ - Festivals + Events Association of Tucson & Southern Arizona

Nancy Kluge – President and CEO, Reid Park Zoological Society

John Salgado – President, Raices Taller 222 Art Gallery & Workshop

Laura Copelin – Executive Director and Curator, Museum of Contemporary Art Tucson

Krystyna Parafinczuk – Treasurer, Tucson Jazz Music Foundation

Scott Black – Co-owner, Tucson Jazz Institute

Ann Conway – FST! Female StoryTellers