

April 25, 2024

The Honorable Maria Cantwell Chair U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, & Transportation Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Ted Cruz Ranking Member U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, & Transportation Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chair Cantwell and Ranking Member Cruz:

We know you are hearing from many people about concert ticketing and its impact on fans. As artists and members of the music community, we rely on touring for our livelihood, and we value music fans above all else. We are joining together to say that the current system is broken: predatory resellers and secondary platforms engage in deceptive ticketing practices to inflate ticket prices and deprive fans of the chance to see their favorite artists at a fair price.

Predatory resellers have gone unregulated while siphoning money from the live entertainment ecosystem for their sole benefit. They use illegal bots, speculative ticket listings, and deceitful advertising, which cause real harm:

- The relationship between artist and fan, which forms the backbone of the entire music industry, is severed. No one cares more about fans than the artists. When predatory resellers scoop up face value tickets ahead of fans in order to resell at inflated prices on the secondary market, artists lose the ability to connect with their fans who cannot afford to attend.
- Fans are lured in by deceptive URLs and advertising tactics which disguise resale and trick consumers into paying up to 20x face value often while face value tickets are still available from the venue.
- Speculative tickets when a predatory reseller lists tickets for a show before they even go on sale or does not have the ticket in hand are intentionally deceitful and too often result in fans showing up at a venue without a valid ticket.
- Predatory resellers do not invest in creating a great live experience or fostering the live music ecosystem – they simply profit off of the hard work of artists, venues and the crew. In fact,

resellers and secondary ticketing platforms often profit more from the artist's work than the artists themselves.

The Fans First Act, introduced by Senators Cornyn, Klobuchar, Blackburn, Welch, Wicker and Lujan, provides us with more tools to combat predatory resellers and the use of illegal bots. The Fans First Act bans fake tickets and deceptive marketing tactics that trick our fans into paying more for tickets that may never get them into a show. And, it requires ticket sellers to show the full itemized price of a ticket from the moment a transaction begins. Even better, it backs all these regulations up with clear penalties and enforcement.

We, as artists, as music lovers, and as concert attendees ourselves, urge you to support the Fans First Act to combat predatory resellers' deceptive ticketing practices and the secondary platforms, which also profit from these practices. Predatory resellers should not be more profitable than the people dedicating their lives to their art.

Sincerely,

- Abbie Thomas
- Abigail Dowd
- Adam Hoornstra
- Aimee Mann
- AJ Lee & Blue Summit
- Akira Galaxy
- Alec O'Hanley (Alvvays)
- Alison Rising
- Allison Preisinger
- Amanda Anne Platt & The Honeycutters
- Amy Engelhardt
- Amy Lee (Evanescence)
- Anastasia Lang
- Andrew Ash
- Angela Perley
- Anjimile
- Anne Leighton
- Annie Capps
- Arden Jones
- Becky G
- Béla Fleck
- Ben de la Cour

- Ever More Nest
- Evie Ladin
- Fall Out boy
- FIDLAR
- Finneas
- Gavin Bondy
- Genevieve
- George
 - Okudaye-Stephens
- Gesenia M. Gerena
- Giacomo Franci
- Glen Phillips
- Goldpine
- Good Co
- Goose
- Graham Nash
- Green Day
- Greg Humphreys
- Greg Keelor
- Grimm Beard
- Halestorm
- Harry Hochman
- Ibby Cline
- Idris Lawal
- Illogistical Resource

- Max Bloomquist
- New Years Day
- Nick Rhodes
- Nicole Martin
- Nile Rodgers
- ODESZA
- OK Go
- Ordinary Elephant
- Orlando Higginbottom
- Oshima Brothers
- Parker Millsap
- Particle Kid
- Paul Thorn
- Pedro the Lion
- Pepe Aguilar
- Peter Case
- Peter Holsapple
- Phil Johnson
- Pixies
- Quinn Christopherson
- Randy Palmer
- Rebecca Loebe
- Rebecca McDaniel
- Reckless Kelly
- Renee Benot

- Ben Folds
- Ben Seigel
- Big Gigantic
- Billie Eilish
- BJJJB
- Black Rebel
 Motorcycle Club
- Black Stone Cherry
- Blind Boys of Alabama
- Blue Öyster Cult
- Blue Rodeo
- Bob Burton
- Bobby Rush
- Bombino
- Bonnie Bluhm
- Bright Eyes
- Brotherkenzie
- Butch Walker
- Carell Casey
- Carol McComb
- Carol Van Alstine
- Carolyn Shulman
- Carter Sampson
- Casey Neill
- Catbite
- Celeste Di Iorio
- Celia Chavez (Babilonia)
- CHAI
- Chappell Roan
- Chelsea Wolfe
- Cheri Jamison
- Cherub
- Chris Smither
- Christina Wood
- Christopher Thomas Anderson
- Claudia Nygaard
- Colin Hay
- Conor Oberst
- Cowboy Junkies
- Crispy Watkins
- Cyndi Lauper

- Dept.
- Indigo Girls
- J.E Sunde
- Jack Johnson
- James Conley
- Jason Mraz
- Jennifer Maurer
- Jerry's Middle Finger
- Jess Klein
- Jess Wayne
- Jim Cuddy
- Jimmie Dale Gilmore
- Jim Moffatt
- Jocelyn Pettit
- John Bunzow
- John Gray
- John McCutcheon
- John Taylor
- Johnsmith
- Jónsi Birgisson (Sigur Ros)
- Josie Quick
- Judi Jaeger
- Julia Michaels
- Julianna Barwick
- Julien Baker
- Jupiter & Okwess
- Kaleida
- Karrie Pavish Anderson
- Kate McDonnell
- Katie Malco
- Keri Latimer
- Kerry Patrick Clark
- Kevin Gordon
- Kim Gordon
- Kirby Heard
- Kristin Marting
- La Luz
- Lauralyn Bodle
- Laurice
- Layton Hosford
- Le Ren
- Linda Marks

- Renée Muzquiz
- Rickie Lee Jones
- Rob Lytle
- Robert Smith
- Roger Taylor
- Ruth Bloomquist
- Ryanhood
- Saint Asonia
- Sara Milonovich & Daisycutter
- Sarah Haag
- Sarah Lounsbury
- Saskia Tomkins
- Sia
- Sig Wilder & Friends
- Simon Le Bon
- Sister Speak
- Skydiggers
- Small Town Titans
- SOAK
- Sonny Landreth
- Sophie Hawley-Weld (SOFI TUKKER)
- Stan Rideway
- Steve Forbert
- Steven J. Schmidt
- Sue Massek
- Sunny Jain
- Susan Graham Pepper
- Suz Slezak
- Suzie Ungerleider
- Sylvan Esso
- Tanya Nye
- The Band of Heathens
- The High Hawks
- The Iguanas
- The Milk Carton Kids
- The Sadies
- They Might Be Giants
- Thurston Moore
- Tim Jenkins, Balladeer
- Toad the Wet Sprocket
- Todd Sickafoose
- Todd Snider

- Dan Deacon
- Dan Navarro
- Dan Sheehan
- Daniel Bernard Roumain (DBR)
- Darlene Love
- Darlingside
- Dave Alvin
- Dave Freeman
- Dave Matthews
- David Bazan
- David LaMotte
- Dawn Richard
- Dean & Britta
- Debbie Hennessey
- Derek S. Sharp
- Dillon Francis
- Diplo
- DNA Picasso
- Don Quarles
- Doug Alan Wilcox
- Dougal
- Drea Lake
- Duran Duran
- Elexa Dawson
- Elizabeth Lockhart
- Elliott Brood
- Ellis Delaney
- Erich Sylvester
- Erik Schroeder

- Lindsey Jordan (Snail Mail)
- Liz Longley
- Lorde
- LP
- Luna
- Major Lazer
- Manuel Prestamo
- Maria Moss
- Marina Orchestra
- Marissa Conniff
- Marita Kennedy
- Mark Kilianski
- Mark Ross
- Marv Gohman
- Mary Lattimore
- Mary Timony
- Meg Duffy
- Megan Burtt
- Men at Work
- MGMT
- Michael R. J. Roth
- Mikey Coltun / Mdou Moctar
- Mimi Mayer
- Mini Trees
- MØ
- Mojo Holler
- Monique Mead

- Tom West
- Tourist
- Train
- Trevor Lewington
- Tucker Halpern (SOFI TUKKER)
- Underoath
- Vi Wickam
- Wednesday
- Will Hoge
- Will Johnson
- Windborne
- Winterlark
- YAIMA
- Yes
- Ynana Rose
- Youth in a Roman Field
- Yuka C. Honda
- Zoë Keating

Cc:

Senator Chuck Schumer, Majority Leader of the U.S. Senate Senator Mitch McConnell, Minority Leader of the U.S. Senate Senator Amy Klobuchar Senator John Cornyn