Ordinance of Secession of Louisiana Passed in the State Capitol at Baton Rouge on 26 January 1861, By a Vote of 113-17

An Ordinance to dissolve the union between the State of Louisiana and other States, united with her under the compact entitled "The Constitution of the United States of America."

We, the people of the State of Louisiana, in Convention assembled, do declare and ordain, and it is herby declared and ordained, That the ordinance passed by us in Convention on the 22nd day of November, in the year eighteen hundred and eleven, whereby the Constitution were adopted; and all laws and ordinance by which the State of Louisiana became a member of the Federal Union, be and the same are hereby repealed and abrogated; and that the union now subsisting between Louisiana and other States, under the name of "The United States of America" is hereby dissolved.

We do further declare and ordain, That the State of Louisiana hereby resumes all rights and powers heretofore delegated to the Government of the United States of America; that her citizens are absolved from all allegiance to said Government; and that she is in full possession and exercise of all those rights of sovereignty which appertain to a free and independent State.

We do further declare and ordain, That all rights acquired and vested under the Constitution of the United States, or any act of Congress, or treaty, or under any law of this State, and not incompatible with this ordinance, shall remain in force, and have the same effects as if this ordinance had not been passed.

> Louisiana Secession Convention Officers (Parish of Representation is in Parentheses.)

President

Alexandre Mouton (St. Landry, Calcasieu & Lafayette)

Secretary

John Tomas Wheat (Orleans)

Assistant Secretary

E. E. Kidd (Jackson)

Louisiana Secession Convention Delegates

(A \ Denotes A Delegate Who Voted In Opposition To The Ordinance of Secession.)

Bossier Bienville

Pointe Coupée, Avoyelles & West Feliciana

- Robert Hodges

- Abraham M. Gray

- Charles D. Stewart

Claiborne

- John L. Lewis

E. Feliciana, E. Baton Rouge

& West Baton Rouge

- James Overton Fuqua
- Andrew Stewart Herron

Franklin & Carroll

- Mark Valentine

Iberville

- Augustus Talbot
- Hardy Chessley Richardson

Jackson & Union

- Wilson M. Kidd

Madison, Tensas & Concordia

- Lemuel Parker Conner, Sr.
- John Perkins, Jr.

Morehouse & Ouachita

- Horace M. Polk

Orleans (Left Bank)

(Including the City of New Orleans)

- W. Rufus Adams
- Pierre Emile Bonford
- Thomas Hall Kennedy
- Felix Labatut
- J. J. Michel

Plaquemines, St. Bernard, Jefferson

& Orleans (Right Bank)

- Charles Bienvenu \
- Fergus Gardere ↓

Winn, Catahoula & Caldwell

-Wade H. Hough ↓

Rapides

- John Kingsberry Elgee

Sabine, Natchitoches,

Desoto & Caddo

- Benjamin Lewis Hodge
- Henry Marshall

St. Charles & Lafourche

- Louis Bush

St. Helena, Washington,

Livingston, & St. Tammany

St. James & St. John the Baptist

- André Bienvenu Roman ↓

St. Landry, Calcasieu & Lafayette

- Lucius Jacques Dupré
- Alexandre Mouton

St. Martin & Vermillion

- Alexandre Etienne DeClouet

St. Mary

- Gabriel LeClaire Fuselier

Terrebonne, Assumption & Ascension

- Robert Campbell Martin, Sr.
- -Adolphe Verret ↓

Representative Delegates

Ascension

- Thomas E. H. Cottman ↓
- Edward Duffel, Jr.

Natchitoches

- Aaron Howell Pierson, Sr.
- Jules Sompayrac

Assumption

- Edmund O. Melancon ↓

- Walter Pugh

Orleans Right Bank

- George Washington Lewis

First Representative District

- Isaac Newton Marks, Sr.

- Thomas Jenkins Semmes

- Benjamin S. Tappan

Second Representative District

- Joseph A. Rozier ↓

- W. T. Stocker ↓

Third Representative District

- Robert W. Estlin

- James McCloskey

- John Budd Slawson

Fourth Representative District

- M. O. H. Norton

Fifth Representative District

- Bernard Avegno

- Joseph Hernandez

Sixth Representative District

- John Pemberton

Seventh Representative District

- Edward Bermudez

- George Clark

Eighth Representative District

- Charles Octave LeBlanc

Ninth Representative District

- P. Sever Wiltz

- William M. Perkins

- Alexander Walker

Tenth Representative District

- William R. Miles

Avoyelles

- Aristides Barbin

- Fenelon Cannon

Ouachita

- Isaiah Garrett \

Bienville

- Felix Lewis

- Joseph Biddle Wilkinson, Jr.

Plaquemines

- Effingham Lawrence

Bossier

- Thomas Jefferson Caldwell

- Henderson McFarland, Jr.

Pointe Coupee

- Samuel Washington McKneely

- Auguste Provosty

Caddo

- Leon Dawson Marks

- George McWillie Williamson, Sr.

- Lewis Emanuel Texada

Rapides

- Thomas Courtland Manning

- William Washington Smart

Calcasieu

- William Ellison Gill

Sabine

-Edward C. Davidson

Caldwell

- Cicero Christopher Meredith \

Carroll

John H. MartinEdward Sparrow

Catahoula

- James Govan Taliaferro ↓

Claiborne

Nelson Jackson ScottJames M. Thomasson

Concordia

Joseph E. MilerZebulon York

Desoto

Joseph Barton ElamYoung W. GravesCaleb L. SwayzeJohn A. Taylor

East Baton Rouge

- William S. Pike

- Isaac Ambrose Williams

East Feliciana

William PattersonThomas W. Scott

Franklin

- Allen Bonner

Iberville

- Edward George Washington Butler

- Theodore Johnson

Jackson

William Benson Warren
Andrew McCollam

Jefferson

Charles Theodule LagroueChristian Roselius ↓

St. Bernard

- Antoine Marrero

St. Charles

- Richard Taylor

St. Helena

- James Anderson Williams

St. James

-Jerome Kleber Gaudet ↓- Louis S. LeBourgeois ↓

St. John the Baptist

- Samuel Hollingsworth

St. Landry

Walthall BurtonThomas Alfred Cooke

St. Martin

- Jean Maximilien Alcibiades DeBlanc

- John Moore

St. Mary

Jules G. OlivierWashington M. Smith

St. Tammany

- Sidney S. Conner

Tensas

William Dumont AndersonSamuel Worthington Dorsey

Terrebonne

- Gilmore Franklin Connely

Union

William Cleaton CarrSidney Henry Griffin

Lafayette

- Michel Eloi Girard

Lafourche

James Scudday Perkins Caleb Jackson Tucker

Livingston

- William Alexander Davidson

Madison

- Claiborne C. Briscoe - William Raine Peck

Morehouse

- Robert Barr Todd

Vermilion

- Daniel O'Bryan

Washington

- Nehemiah Magee

West Baton Rouge Nathaniel W. Pope

West Feliciana

- William Ruffin Barrow, Sr.

- John Turnbull Towles, Sr.

Winn

- David Pierson