



For Immediate Release May 8, 2022

Awards given to History Projects exhibit participants

(Sioux City) – A reception and awards ceremony to honor the knowledge and creativity of 83 local fourth-grade students participating in the 31st annual *Sioux City History Projects* exhibition was held at the Sioux City Public Museum Saturday. Mayor Bob Scott, Mayor Pro Tem Dan Moore, and Museum Director Steve Hansen presented blue ribbons to all the exhibit participants and special certificates in the following categories:

Sioux City Museum & Historical Association Award: Queen of Peace – Piper Ross Grandview Park Bandshell – Garrett Spencer

President's Award: Uncle John's Records & Tapes – Kateri Venturi

Trustee's Award: Sioux City Corn Palace - Noah Davis

Museum Director's Award: Sioux City Fire Station No. 3 – Kale Kinnaman

Museum Staff Award: Woodbury County Court House – Owen Huseman

Visitor's Choice Award: Orpheum Theatre – Olivia Mogensen

Student Choice Award: Jolly Time Popcorn – Addie Nelson

After studying local history, 940 students created models and posters based on Sioux City's past and present. The participating schools and students with projects on display include: Bryant Elementary: Kaitlyn Delger, Wakin Flowers, Eila Lytton, Easton Mosher, Isabella Severson, and Madelyn Simon; Holy Cross Elementary: Hayden Campbell, Addie Nelson, Kateri Venturi, and Aiden Washington; Irving Elementary: Leonel Becerra-Valadez, Getsemani Garcia, Christian Maeda, Luna Marcos, Danny Nguyen, Maria Perez Esquivel, Mariana Reyes, and Manuel Sanchez; Leeds Elementary: Lincoln Beller, Tyler Chamberlin, Benjamin Gurnsey, Oliver Kurtz, Aiyana Madeaux, Payton McDonald, Olivia Mogensen, and Alyvia Sachau; Liberty Elementary: Damian Aguilar Raya, Bella-Marie Downs, Janiyah Lillard, Payten Mace-Smith, Dauntae Pappan, Trenton Rainbow, Ava, Risner, Aniah Seibold, Ray Taylor-Smith, and Athena Vo; Loess Hills Elementary: Cazen Combs, Avery Griffin, Brianett Hernandez Huerta, Piper Ross, and Tyler Westfall; Morningside Elementary: Abel Brummond, Preston Bursell, Scarlet De Los Santos, Lydia Gillespie, Maxwell Holdenried, and Izabella Myers; Perry Creek Elementary: Khloe Kneifl, Raeley Biederman, Emilee DeVries, Zoey Eckert, Max Gonzalez, Louis Kellogg, Jakoby Olorundami, and Piper Rea; Riverside Elementary: Noah Davis, Haylie Hernandez, Mason Neal, and Addyson Ortiz; Sacred Heart: Sophie Lane and Max McGregor; Spalding Park Elementary: Eliasyn Carrillo, Aliyah Dicus, Faydra Hariluk, Keila Lopez-Castro, Emiliano Ramirez, Syndal Sencenbaugh, Leah Trudell, and Stephanie Virula; Sunnyside Elementary: Rylee Blades, Lydia Bremer, Ashton Jacobson, Kale Kinnaman, Jackson Koppelman, and Ema Moreno; Unity Elementary: Blake Bock, Owen Huseman, Rain Jepsen, Sienna Karrer, Keegan Kleinschmidt, and Dio Roy; and VIBE Academy: Eli Hathaway and Garrett Spencer.

###