March 22, 2023

Dear Board of Trustees at Northern Seminary,

We are writing as students of Northern Seminary who are deeply concerned and grieved over the state of our institution. We are concerned about our prospects of being able to stay at an institution with a Board that continues to be distant, refuses to listen to students, staff, and faculty, and perpetuates harm to our own community.

Some of us are reconsidering our ability to stay enrolled for the spring term that begins in less than two weeks. How can we stay at a seminary with this state of leadership at the board level?

The salvageability of our seminary is at stake. We are signing this letter stating our vote of no confidence in the Board of Trustees at Northern Seminary.

You have had ample chances to make better decisions, and yet you continue to turn a blind eye to this body of students, staff, faculty, and most importantly the victims. We have lost a Provost, peers that have already withdrawn, and now the only board member who approached us with an ear to listen and consider our perspective.

We are no longer confident in your ability to run this seminary as a board of trustees. As such, we request the following actions:

- 1. Resignation of the Board Chair Wyatt Hoch
- 2. Resignation of any other board members who cannot affirm the statement by your former peer, Dr. Fay Quanstrom, which reads as follows:

That you have responded inadequately, and confess that:

- You have maintained your distance to the detriment of all concerned.
- You have allowed the value of confidentiality to overcome the value of transparency.
- You have taken the faithful work of faculty and staff for granted.
- You have assumed that all was well without independent confirmation.
- You have not listened well enough.
- You have been too far removed to feel the extent of the pain of our community.
- You have allowed legal priorities to deny us vital human contact and interaction.
- You have made too many decisions without acknowledging their emotional quotient.
- You are keenly aware of the pain, hurt and anger that have resulted during your tenure.
- You commit to greater engagement, to timely help being offered, and with the help of God and the Northern Seminary family to see a healthy future together.

We are heavily invested in a healthy path forward for the place and the people we love. It is our conviction that it requires, at a minimum, affirmation of the statement by Dr. Fay Quanstrom.

If you cannot agree with this statement we ask you to step down from the Board of Trustees of Northern Seminary, for the benefit of our institution and the community that has been hurt by your leadership.

For those of you that can affirm that statement, we look forward to the days ahead when the unified student body, along with faculty and staff, can join you to heal, rebuild, and flourish as a community of tov.

Due to your previous lack of ability to hear us we are also sending this to every faculty member, staff member, the press, Dr. Fay Quanstrom, and representatives at The Association of Theological Schools (ATS) and American Baptist Churches USA (ABCUSA).

Sincerely,

## Active Students

- 1. Justin Charles MANT 2020
- 2. Sarah Klingler MANT 2018, DMin NTC 2022
- 3. Karen Smith MAWT 2021
- 4. Nathan Perrin DMin CCD 2019
- 5. David Johnson MANT 2022
- 6. Kelly Diopolito DMin NTC 2021
- 7. Jadon Reynolds MDiv 2022
- 8. James L. Ingermann Heimlich MANT 2020
- 9. Andrea Roach MANT 2019
- 10. Rob Griffin MANT 2021
- 11. Heidi A. McCue-Gomes MAWT 2022
- 12. Nicholas Estelle MANT 2019
- 13. Seth C. Hammond MDiv 2021
- 14. Emily B. Mercer Graduate Certificate 2023
- 15. Kelley Mathews DMin WLT 2022
- 16. Rachel Hunt MANT 2022
- 17. Christine Calareso Bleecker MAWT 2021
- 18. Michael D. Fox MATM 2022
- 19. Heather Weber MATM 2023
- 20. Kyle Trigg MANT 2020
- 21. Nunes Macarrao MANT 2020
- 22. Adilah Brodie CCD 2020/22
- 23. Jason Pettibone MANT 2020
- 24. Denise Ayer MAWT 2021
- 25. Jackie Roese MAWT 2021
- 26. Susan Diaz MANT 2019
- 27. Jennifer Grisham MATM 2022
- 28. Tim Holmes MDiv-CCD 2021

- 29. Laura Tarro MDiv-MANT 2019
- 30. Savannah Locke MATM 2019
- 31. Matt Harp MATM 2019
- 32. Levie Rainey Alfaro MAWT 2022
- 33. Stephanie Casey MATM 2021
- 34. Alex Schorr MATM 2019
- 35. Jacob Brunelli MATM 2019
- 36. Mark Kern MATM 2018
- 37. John Koeshall MANT 2020
- 38. Melodee S Shatswell DMin WTL 2022
- 39. Shala Wilson Graham MAWT 2021
- 40. Rebekah Lee MDiv 2022
- 41. Chris Morris MATM 2021
- 42. Joshua Phillips MANT 2020
- 43. Matt DeMontaigne MATM 2019
- 44. Taylor Yoder MAWT 2021
- 45. Jamie Dickerson MATM 2022
- 46. Jeff Walton MAWT 2022
- 47. Katherine Poltorak MAWT 2022
- 48. Darby Whealy DMin WTL 2022
- 49. Nika Spaulding DMin NTC 2021
- 50. Joshua Pickett MANT 2019
- 51. Brenden Lang DMin 2021
- 52. Bobby Gilles MANT 2022
- 53. Catherine Jones Payne MANT 2022
- 54. Dan De La Forest MANT 2020
- 55. Roberta (Robbie) Cansler DMin WTL 2022
- 56. Alex Connell MANT 2022
- 57. Josephine Stringer MAWT 2022
- 58. Wes Trevor MDiv 2021
- 59. Casey Craigie MANT 2019
- 60. Janet Siefert MAWT 2022
- 61. Gino Curcuruto MATM 2020
- 62. Stephanie Creasman MAWT 2021
- 63. Loren Joseph MAWT 2021
- 64. Veronica Reeves MANT 2020
- 65. Dan Reeves MATM 2023
- 66. James Anderson MATM 2019
- 67. Matthew Yoder MANT 2022
- 68. Elisabeth Lectka MDiv 2020
- 69. Susy Flory MANT 2018, DMin WTL 2022
- 70. Jane Anne Tucker MANT 2022
- 71. Trevor Schlosser MDiv 2021
- 72. Amanda Weber MANT 2018

- 73. Ashley Siri MANT 2020
- 74. Kat Armstrong DMIN 2022
- 75. Natalie Schwarting MDiv 2022
- 76. Benjamin McDonald MANT 2022
- 77. Wendy Schulz MAWT 2023
- 78. Donald Chandler MATM 2022
- 79. Daniel Phillips DMin CT 2022
- 80. Elijah Shamenda MANT 2020
- 81. Rachel Shellenbarger DMin WTL 2022
- 82. Connie Pumphrey MATM 2022
- 83. Terri Pease MATM 2022
- 84. Jenna Kuhns MDiv 2022
- 85. David Larson MATM 2021
- 86. Jonathan Reynolds MANT 2020
- 87. Joshua Cheng MANT 2020
- 88. Addie Anderson MDiv 2020
- 89. Renjy Abraham DMin 2021
- 90. Christian Williams DMin 2022
- 91. Kelley Maranto Mathews DMin WTL 2022
- 92. Meghann Tennant MANT 2021
- 93. David Rinck DMin 2018
- 94. Lucas Henderson MDiv/MANT 2022
- 95. Leo Diaz MANT 2019
- 96. Noemi Sanchez MANT 2020
- 97. Elizabeth Cronlund MA-CCD 2018
- 98. Ian Howard MACM 2020
- 99. Leon Miller MDiv 2014, DMin NTC 2022
- 100. A. Sareen Musselman MANT 2019
- 101. Jason Park DMin NTC 2022
- 102. Vanessa Ely MDiv 2021
- 103. Mitzi Roberts DMin. WTL 2022
- 104. John Rosensteel DMin. 2020
- 105. Marlene Molewyk DTM 2020
- 106. Jonathan Coords MANT 2021

## Alumni

- 1. Becky Castle Miller MANT 2016
- 2. Scott Johanningsmeier MANT 2018
- 3. Caryn Rivadeneira MAW 2019
- 4. Stacey Lovett Hohbein MATM 2022
- 5. Amanda Clark MANT 2018
- 6. Heather Hart MANT 2018
- 7. Adrienne Gibson MANT 2018

- 8. Frances Twomey MAW 2016, MDiv 2019
- 9. Sheva S Stephens Knott MANT 2018
- 10. Josiah W. Black MDiv 2012
- 11. Tyler Ward MATM 2016
- 12. Peter Green MANT 2018
- 13. Michelle Van Loon Graduate certificate 2013
- 14. Christopher Glotzbach MANT 2018
- 15. Aaron Visser MDiv 2012
- 16. Lauren Visser MDiv 2009, DMin 2014
- 17. Deacon Godsey MANT 2016
- 18. Alec Kenny MATM 2020
- 19. Madison Baker MAW 2019
- 20. Cathy Bruce MDiv 2017
- 21. Debbie Duke Moore MANT 2016